Tried 2 new recipes this week found on Pinterest. 1 winner and 1 loser…

First the Winner
taco soup

Chicken Taco Soup —–YUMMY!!! This recipe originally came from Muscle and Fitness Hers magazine and I came across it during a Pinterest session.  I’m trying to watch the carbs and fat so I thought I would give it a go.  LOVED IT!!!!! My kids, 5 and 17, loved it too. Hubby is doing no carbs so he didn’t try it. I think when I make it again I will use lean ground beef or ground bison because I like ground meat in my tacos.  We topped it with a sprinkle of cheese and then a bit of crushed tortilla chips. Did I already say YUMMY!!!

Now for the LOSER

216946907021529007_kYo4aNEh_c

For this recipe I gave up my usual notion to use as many from scratch ingredients as I could in favor of making something simple and quick to feed my girls  on  an especially busy weeknight.  The one thing I changed was that I used italian seasoned ground turkey and made my own meatballs for this because I couldn’t find meatballs that didn’t scare the bejeezus out of me.  I was so looking forward to eating these as a little break from the carb counting.  I made a nice big salad to go with them to counteract the fatteningness. (is that a word?)  We ate our salads while we waited for them to come out of the oven and salivated at the smells they were creating in the kitchen.  As soon as they came out I brushed a bit of garlic butter on the tops just for added flavor.

What a disappointment! Even my daughters weren’t fans. I think it was the biscuit dough. Just didn’t taste right with the italian meatballs, cheese and sauce.  Definitely not making this again. The Taco soup…YUMMY!!! (just in case you didn’t get it the first few times)

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

