I cheated on the big 3 and crafting with the Silhouette Cameo.

Michael’s, Jo-Ann’s, and Hobby Lobby…oh what great friends we have been these past few years.  But I must confess I cheated on you this weekend, not once, not twice, but 3 TIMES!!!  I love the convenience and proximity of these craft supply stores to where I live, but the variety of what they stock doesn’t change very often and isn’t always the most inspiring. The Paper Source does give me a lot of inspiration, but their stock doesn’t change all that often either.  I was looking for something different, something inspiring, some place that offers more than just the run of the mill.  In order to find these gems I have been reading a lot of blogs lately written by fellow paper crafters and researching the products that they use and talk about.

I don’t know why it never occurred to me before to see if there were other stores in my area, but it did yesterday.  I discovered 3 stores that are somewhat in my area.  By Design Scrapbook Boutique, Novel Approach and Archiver’s…let me just say that walking in to these three speciality stores was like finding a needle in a haystack.  Houston (have I told you I live in Houston, TX) is humongous and everything is a drive, unless you can afford to live in a cute condo/loft apartment in the heart of Rice Village/Heights/River Oaks…which I can not, so I live just outside the city.  I spend a lot of time in the city checking out new shops, restaurants, shows, and the like. I love the big city life!!! I grew up in a much smaller town many many miles north of TX, so I enjoy the city and all it offers.

For my first 2 stores I drove to the Clear Lake/Friendswood area. Both stores were well organized and had some interesting offerings. By Design Scrapbook Boutique had more scrapbooking supplies like stickers and embellishments (hence the name..lol).  They also had a room in the back where you could borrow their cutting stuff and space to work, which I thought was pretty neat. Novel Approach had so many more stamps and inks than the other place, but also a lot of stickers and embellishments. Both places were worth visiting and I will go back when I am in that area…..BUT the last place I went, which was an hour away from where I was, made me feel like a kid in a candy store.  Archiver’s had so many different brands and such a huge variety that I was worried I was going to go broke in there. The only saving grace is that it is 40+miles from my house and on a good day with Houston traffic that’s about and hour. I have made a deal with myself that I will only go there once every OTHER month…I hope 🙂

My daughter and I had some time this afternoon to sit down and get our craft on.  We looked for some new cut files for the Silhouette with an Easter theme and came across this cute paper basket that she made. I also did a print and cut of a few Easter eggs for her to color.  Below is the photo:

1361763825723

She did a good job.  We added the little Easter egg decorations on the side as an after thought. They are from a different cut file in the Silhouette store that is a border row of eggs with the words Happy Easter underneath.  Inside you can see just a bit of the eggs she colored.

While she was working on getting everything glued down I was just playing around with some of the scrap papers we have and wanted to see how the other half of the border we got would turn out. The Happy Easter portion of the border is written in a very curvy script and I just couldn’t get it to cut cleanly.  I don’t know what the problem was. I tried probably 10 times using different settings, changing the size of the font or other tips I found online, but nothing worked.  Suggestions are definitely welcome if anyone out there has any to offer??? I did contact Silhouette by email and am awaiting a response. I’ll let you know what they say.  After giving up on the Happy Easter border I decided to just see what else I could make rather quickly so I could end my night with a success (didn’t want to go to sleep frustrated).  Below is what I made:

1361763859242

This card is really small and cute.It measures 3 1/8 in x 4 1/2 in and was cut using the Silhouette (and cut out very cleanly might I add). I added some Stickles for a bit of something shimmery. Punched out a small orange circle for the flower and coated it with glossy accents.  I know it’s nothing super fantastic, but I think it’s cute and simple and I know just who I will be giving this too later this week. 🙂

Happy Sunday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Haley
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:29:01

    My sister is getting a Silhouette Cameo for Christmas… I was going to get her some accessories/add ons so she can get straight to crafting! Do you have any suggestions of what she would need? Do they sell any silhouette stuff in Houston? Thanks so much!!!!

    Reply

    • theunboredmom
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39:36

      Yes there are stores around that sell supplies. Archiver’s, Michaels and of course there is always Amazon…not exactly in the area, but it is a mouse click away. I would say as far as supplies go she just needs a mat, some quality card stock (I use Bazzill (sp?)) and maybe an extra blade.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

